EKS Performance AB applies cookies to secure an optimal use. With the further use of this website you accept the application of cookies. More Information

#eksrx       #welovequattro


Let's get ready to rumble

Twelve events on three continents are on the calendar this year, kicked off by the round at Barcelona.. It will be the first race in which we receive factory support from Audi. We will be fielding three Audi S1 EKS RX quattro cars for the first time. Plus, Barcelona will be the venue of the season opener for the first time. Mattias is looking forward to the race at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya with confidence. “Last week, we did another three-day test in France and are entering the season superbly prepared,” says the Swede. “I’m very happy with the development work that was done in winter and our aim for this season is clear: we’d like to win the drivers’ and teams’ titles in the FIA World Rallycross Championship again this year.”

The rallycross track at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is located in the stadium section of the circuit and includes two super-fast corners included in Formula 1 races as well – albeit in the opposite direction. It is one of the few tracks with very fast initial corners on tarmac, plus many flat-out sections. “Thinking about last year puts a grin on my face,” says Mattias. At Barcelona, he celebrated his fourth victory of the season in 2016 and laid the foundation for his subsequent world championship win. The basis for the success has been the 560 hp Audi S1 EKS RX quattro, which was technically modified once again for this season.

About Barcelona RX

Track Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, 25 km north of Barcelona
Track length 1,133 m (Joker lap: 1,284 m)
Surface 60% tarmac, 40% gravel
Turns 7 left, 4 right
Top speed approx. 171 km/h
Lap record Johan Kristoffersson (S), 45.212s (2015)
Winner 2016 Mattias Ekström (S), 4m 55.251s
Race length 4 laps (Qualifyings), 6 laps (Semi-finals and final)

Timetable (CEST)

Friday, March 31
16.00–16.15 Press conference (with Mattias)

Saturday, April 1
09.00–11.00 Free practice
12.00–13.30 Qualifying 1 (Q1)
14.30–16.00 Qualifying 2 (Q2)

Sunday, April 2
10.00–11.30 Qualifying 3 (Q3)
11.30–12.40 Qualifying 4 (Q4)
15.00–15.40 Semi-finals and final
15.50–15.55 Podium ceremony